Monday, November 2, 2009

P. Sengupta and G.S. Dayak's Zones

P. Sengupta and G.S. Dayak's Zones
According to Sengupta and Dayak, the country may be divided into 4 macro-; 25 mega- and 60 mIcro-agricultural regions.

These regions are as follows. .
1. The Himalayan Zone In this zone, the annual rainfall varies from 120 em to 250 em; it covers Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Kumaon Himalaya and its foothills, Darjeeling, Assam Himalaya, etc. As the region is mountainous, the area is considered as negative area from the point of view of cultivation and settlement.

2. The West Zone The zone comprises north-eastern plateaus. viz., Chhotanagpur, northern Orissa, Bastar Pla­teau, central parts of Madhya Pradesh, Upper Mahanadi basin and Kaimur hills and the eastern hills and plateaus. The annual rainfall varies from 100 to 125 em. The impor­tant crops grown are rice, tea, jute, oilseeds, gram, millets, wheat, sugarcane, banana, coconut, 'etc.

3. Sub-Ill/mid Zone The zone embraces a vast stretch of land in peninsular India from Bundelkhand plateau through the heart of the lava plateau down to the east coast region. The annual rainfall varies between 75 and 100 em. The proportion of cultivated region reaches a high figure wherever water is available for irrigation. The most inten­sively cultivated areas are the Ganga plain and the east coast deltas, where proportion of cultivated land to the total area comes to about 70 per cent. Wheat, sugarcane, rice, gram, maize, millets, cotton, groundnut, oilseed and to­bacco are the main crops.

4. The Dry Zone Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan desert plain, western Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat are the areas which are dry and where average rainfall is about 75 em a year. The area suffers from acute shortage of water. Millets, grain, wheat, oilseeds, cotton and groundnut are the main crops

No comments:

Post a Comment